First day in Vitoria-Gasteiz

IMG_7319We arrived in Vitoria-Gasteiz from San Sebastian, an hour and some bus ride barreling along through heavy rain.  I was relieved that we weren’t driving as we had considered renting a car somewhere in the planning stage of our trip.  I came to really appreciate the bus system in Spain as the buses were on time, clean, modern and conveniently located.  Lauren would purchase our tickets ahead of time choosing our seats at the back of the bus where it tended to be less crowded if the bus wasn’t full.  Even the bus stations were impressive with espresso coffee and clean, large restrooms.

IMG_7129

Downtown Vitoria-Gasteiz

It was still raining when we arrived in Vitoria-Gasteiz, the city where Lauren lives and teaches English at a high school.  We rolled our luggage past the modern art museum and along several blocks downtown before we arrived at her fifth floor apartment she shares with four others.

Lauren's apartment building in Vitoria-Gasteiz

Lauren’s apartment building

Her apartment is located downtown amidst shops, cafes, bakeries and small grocery stores and I was immediately impressed when she announced, “this is it”.

It had been a full day and we were exhausted so instead of tossing our luggage into her place and heading out to her favorite pinxtos bars, we stayed in and Lauren cooked a scrumpscious vegetarian meal for us.  I don’t know how she found the energy for it because if it had been up to me I would have settled for toast and tea.

I adored her apartment, Lauren’s room was spacious and bright with views of the city and the shared kitchen/ dining space was cozy.  I met two of her housemates, both students, who were friendly and super busy with their studies.  It was somewhat of a relief to settle into to my daughter’s home and to take a break from attempting to see everything.  While it rained.

The next morning Lauren proudly showed me around her town.  I could tell she wanted me to discover some things on my own (she loves surprises) and didn’t tell me everything in advance that we might see.

Our first stop was the farmer’s market where Lauren chatted up and joked with a local farmer while I somewhat patiently waited for my coffee.

IMG_7160

Plaza de la Virgen Blanca

IMG_7137

People watching in Plaza de la Virgen Blanca

Then to Plaza de la Virgen Blanca where we sat outside to have our coffee and a croissant and to people watch.  “Wow, I’m really in Europe”, I thought to myself as we sat there together sipping delicious espresso out of small ceramic cups (no paper cups here).

I was in Basque country because of Lauren and I felt so immensely proud of her.  She was living in Spain by herself, learning another language, and figuring everything out on her own, without complaints or asking for anything from me.  Her independent, adventurous spirit has always amazed me but it was sitting there with her in the plaza where I fully realized how extraordinary her life is.  She had made this all happen on her own.  I had traveled to Spain because of her and my life was enriched enormously from the experience.

Casco Viejo-Vitoria

Casco Viejo (must be siesta)

Next we walked around Casco Viejo, which Lauren pointed out was built in the shape of an almond.  Its colorful, narrow streets were rich with shops, pinxto bars and history.  Everywhere I looked was a photo opportunity; so much to take in.  I found it interesting when one of Lauren’s housemates asked if we were going to take a day trip to the wine country because in his opinion there was nothing to see in Vitoria.  We had decided to stay in town because we were exhausted from dashing around and I wanted to see Lauren’s city.  I suppose when you live in an area everything seems ordinary after a time and you can’t imagine what someone new would want to see in your old familiar place.  But with new eyes there was more for me to see in Vitoria-Gasteiz than I could experience in two days.  It was all spectacular to me.

Flaming chorizo for lunch in Casco Viejo.

The covered moving walkway was interesting and unusual.

IMG_7294

City Medieval Wall.  Vitoria-Gasteiz is the capital of the Álava province and of the Basque Country.  It was founded in 1181.

Vitoria-Gasteiz was the winner of the European Green Capital in 2012

Vitoria-Gasteiz was the winner of the European Green Capital in 2012

Green CapitalVitoria-Gasteiz, the city where Lauren has resided for eight months, was fun, pretty, Basque, modern and very old too.

 

More adventures in Vitoria

3 thoughts on “First day in Vitoria-Gasteiz

  1. Pingback: Saying “Hasta Luego” to Basque Country! | Roamingtheworld

  2. Wonderful pictures to accompany your descriptions. I’m pretty impressed, as well, with your daughter’s apartment. At least from the outside, it looks clean and charming. I do wonder what the inside looks like.

    Your morning breakfast of espresso, croissants and people watching are, of course, right up my alley. I can imagine being there doing some writing and perhaps reading a good book. I kind of wonder what the shopping is like in these cities. For instance, can one find a great pair of leather loafers there that are actually made in Spain?

    Again, I am struck with the atmospheric imagery that I see in your photos. Wouldn’t it be nice to have the money or means to travel to Europe a few times a year? I have to hand it to Lauren, she has worked out a great way of really seeing and living in some far off exotic places. There’s something to be said about shedding any excess baggage. It really does give you the freedom to move about the globe freely. It’s hard for me to imagine Lauren settling down in any one place for more than a year. And now here she is, back in the Bay Area.

    Your turning into a great travel blogger! Hmmm, now if somehow you could just get paid for this you might be able to travel about any time…

  3. Pingback: Sunday in Guernica (Gernika) | Jump Write In

I'd love to hear what you have to say:

